Two New Members Elected to Serve on NENA Board of Directors

Charles Cullen, ENP elected 2nd Vice President; Leah Hornacek, ENP elected North Central Region Director

Today, NENA: The 9-1-1 Association announced that Charles Cullen, ENP of the University of California, San Francisco (UCSF) Police Department and Leah Hornacek, ENP of Grand Traverse County (MI) 911 have been elected by the organization?s members to serve on its Board of Directors and help lead the association?s mission to improve 9-1-1 through research, standards development, training, education, outreach, and advocacy.

Cullen, who will ascend to 1st Vice President in 2022 and then association President in 2023, started his 9-1-1 career as a dispatcher and has been a public-safety professional for more than twenty-five years. He is currently the Technical Services Director for the UCSF Police Department. Active on both the local and national levels, he is a past president of the California NENA chapter and served on the national board as Western Region Director. Previously, Cullen was appointed by the governor of California for two terms on the state?s 9-1-1 Advisory Board.

Hornacek will represent NENA members from the North Central Region on the board. She is the Deputy Director of Grand Traverse County (MI) 911, a position she has held since 2016, previously serving in roles including Communications Training Officer, Tactical Dispatcher, Supervisor, and Administrative Supervisor. She is the 2nd Vice President of the Michigan NENA chapter and is a frequent presenter at both chapter and national conferences.

Incumbents retained their seats in the two other board elections, with Erin Malloy, ENP and Holly Barkwell, ENP continuing to serve in the positions of Northeastern Director and Canadian Director respectively.

Cullen, Hornacek, Malloy, Barkwell, and six other Board of Directors members will be sworn in this July at the NENA 2021 Conference & Expo in Columbus, OH: President Jennifer White, ENP; 1st Vice President, Laurie Anderson, ENP; Immediate Past President, Gary Bell, ENP; Southeastern Director, Cassie Lowery, ENP; Western Director, Bruce Romero, ENP; and Private Sector Director, Karin Marquez, ENP.